loader image

Eligibility Criteria to Appear for IIT JEE Mains 2020


National Testing Agency

The IIT JEE exam or the Joint Entrance Exam for the Indian Institute of Technology is a nationwide examination conducted for admission to various engineering colleges in India. It is one of the most challenging examinations all over the world. JEE exam has two main categories- JEE Mains and JEE Advanced. The Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India (GOI) has established National Testing Agency (NTA) as an independent autonomous and self-sustained premier testing organization under Society Registration Act 1860 for conducting efficient, transparent and international standard tests in order to assess the competency of candidates for admissions to premier higher education institutions. National Testing Agency (NTA) is going to conduct JEE exams from 2019 onwards. Every year more than ten lakh students appear for this exam nationwide.

Eligibility Criteria for JEE Mains    

The JEE Mains will be conducted twice a year, once in January and in April from 2019 onwards. NTA will set the eligibility criterion for this exam. It includes educational qualifications, age limit, and number of attempts, state eligibility, and appropriate subjects. Here are a few details regarding these criteria.  

  1. Students who have passed their 12th Board exam (recognized by the central or state boards such as ICSE, CBSE or CISCE) or equivalent qualifying exam (approved by the NTA) in the year 2018-19 are eligible to sit for this exam in April 2020. Students appearing for the Board exam this is also eligible. However, those who have passed their exam before 2017 or will be appearing after 2021 will not be eligible to sit for the exam in 2020. 
  2. There is no age limit for this exam. However, there is a restriction for the number of attempts that a candidate can appear for.  For 3 consecutive years, candidates are allowed to appear for this exam. This allows them 6 attempts overall since the exam is now conducted twice a year.
  3. It compulsory for the candidates to have studied Physics, Mathematics and any one of (Chemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Technical) vocational subjects for their 10th as well as their 12th Board exams.
  4. The state code refers to the code of the state from where the candidate has passed the 12th class or equivalent examination. Based on this, they will be eligible to participate in the JEE Main 2020 exam.

Admission to NITs/ IIITs/ GFTIs B.Arch/B.Planning

For admission to these various fields, a candidate must have obtained a minimum of 75% in class 12th Board exams or equivalent exam or they must be in the top 20 percentile of their class. For students aspiring to join B.Arch, they should have passed 10+2 or equivalent exam from a recognized board with minimum 50% aggregate marks. Consult our experts at Eduempire for further details.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.